Invited Speakers

arielyDan Ariely

Behavioral economist Dan Ariely's research focuses on decision making. He is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University and a founding member of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. In addition to his many academic publications, he has published well-known books for laypeople, including The Honest Truth about Dishonesty, Predictably Irrational, and The Upside of Irrationality.





seeleyThomas Seeley

Bee biologist Thomas Seeley is the author of Honeybee Democracy and The Wisdom of the Hive. A professor in the Department of Neurobiology and Behavior at Cornell University, where he studies "swarm intelligence," Seeley has been a Guggenheim Foundation Fellow and a Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study in Berlin. The sweat bee Neocorynurella seeleyi is named for him.






leeChang-rae Lee

Chang-Rae Lee's five novels, in which he explores the outsider's relationship to culture and identity and how outsider status affects decisions, are A Gesture Life, Native Speaker, The Surrendered, Aloft, and On Such a Full Sea. The winner of the Pen/Hemingway Award for Fiction and the Dayton Literary Peace Prize among other awards, he teaches creative writing at Princeton University.









Featured Speaker

lomaskJodi Lomask

Choreographer and dancer Jodi Lomask is the founder and Artistic Director of the San Francisco dance company Capacitor, which is devoted to using dance to "explore the patterns and relationships inherent in nature and the cosmos." She has created works for NASA, TED, SFO, Computers and Structures, the California Academy of Sciences, and the Salvadorian Olympic Gymnastics Team, among other groups.







Invited Panelists


GROUP Decisions (moderated by Monisha Pasupathi)
Michele Straube, Kathy Elton, Jeff Anderson and Monisha Pasupathi


BAD Decisions (moderated by Craig Dworkin)
Scott Hammond, Melanie Rae Thon, Chrisoula Andreouu and Matt Haber


FAST Decisions (moderated by Elena Asparouhova)
Greg Clark, Joe Price, Frank Yanowitz and Aaron Brough


Influenced Decisions (moderated by Jack Longino)
Brennan Platt, Eric Laursen, Jonathan Nebeker and Colby Tofel-Grehl